It’s a Small World After All…

I cannot believe that it’s October already. I know it’s cliched to say, but this year has seriously flown by – I feel like I’ll be back in the States for Christmas before I know it.

I am approaching the three year anniversary of my arrival in Dublin and the beginning of my expat existence. In thinking about this year thus far, I feel like 2015 is when I finally managed to take full advantage of being an expat in Europe.

Last year, because my work situation was so precarious, I didn’t do a lot of travel. I did my annual Paris pilgrimage but that was it. I know, poor me, I ONLY got to go to Paris last year. But one of the the great joys of living in Ireland (or just about anywhere in Europe for that matter) is how close the rest of Europe is, so to not do any new exploring was a bit of a bummer.

When I was home for Christmas last year, I decided that I needed to stop worrying so much about work. As my sister has pointed out to me on several occasions, things always seem to work themselves out when it comes to me and employment. So, I planned as if I would have the money to travel. And you know what? Though being freelance doesn’t give me the security I would like, things did work themselves out job-wise and, therefore, I had the time and money to travel. So, this year I went to five countries I’d never before seen – Spain, Sweden, Estonia, Finland and Russia. And I think the longest flight I had to take lasted about 2.5 hours – that is the beauty of living in Europe. There are so many different places to see, so many different cultures to experience, yet they are all so easy and inexpensive to get to.

Next up is a month living and working in Paris, which I wrote about here. I depart for that little adventure in just over two weeks. This is another experience I just kind of decided to go for and trust that work, money and time would work themselves out. And they have. How lucky am I?

Three years into this open-ended expat adventure, I am quite amazed at how small and big my world has become at the same time.

Leave a Reply

