If you leave…

I am writing this post in the lounge at the Manchester airport as I wait for a flight to bring me back to Dublin after being in the UK for business this week. And just last week, I was in London for business as well. As a result I am more aware than usual of the goings-on in the UK.

Something that has been in the British news of late is David Cameron’s fresh-off-his-win promise to hold a referendum by 2017 to let the people vote as to whether they want to stay in the European Union or not. I do not claim to know why the UK would not want to be in the EU anymore. I have no idea about the intricacies of British politics. But since it is something David Cameron supports I suspect the reasons to be rather douche-y.

Even though I do not live in the UK, I am rather worried about this referendum, precisely because someday I may want to live there. Perhaps even someday soon. There is a lot going on in my industry in London and beyond and to have that door closed to me would be rather devastating.

I have mentioned my worries to some UK friends and they seem to think there is no way it will ever happen. I’m not so sure. After all, this was a major point on Cameron’s reelection platform and he won. So, doesn’t that mean, by deduction, that the referendum will have a majority of support as well?

Again, I don’t really understand British politics and, even if I did, it’s not like I have a vote in the referendum. But if it does pass, the Golden Ticket that is my EU passport will indeed lose some of its luster.

3 thoughts on “If you leave…

  1. Shannon, so sorry for your turmoil. The world is so changed, it is very hard to understand, especially for us who. I now believe, lived in the best of times.

  2. Read my earlier comment, very negative tone. Really feel we have lived in good times but not the best. Spent the fourth with smart, industrious, caring and honest middle aged people. Lots of them in this world. We need leaders in our government to get out of their way and do the things they are responsible to do. The best is yet to come.

    • I didn’t take your comment negatively at all Kay. I believe there are good and bad things about every era, and that often the negative can be forgotten or glossed over when looking back. I figure, we only have now, so we need to find a way to make it work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

