In 10 words or less…

I have been an expat for just over a year now.  I have settled into a nice life – great job, wonderful friends, lots of travel, a city I love.  And lots of questions.

Over this past year, I’ve learned that part of the expat experience is getting asked questions about why you live where you live, why you left your other life behind, is it what you thought it would be, was it worth it?  And I don’t mind the questions – I like that people are interested.

National Public Radio has just launched Project Expat and they are asking American Expats to answer the question “What does it mean to you to be an expatriate?” in ten words or less.

It’s an interesting question.  What the heck does it mean to me to be an expat?  I suppose I could have gone on and on about how I’ve always felt more at home in Europe than in America, how I identify more with european sensibilities and politics, how living in Europe would make travel so much easier, how I’ve always been a bit of a gypsy and moving to Europe just made sense…

But yeah, ten words or less.

So, I thought about it for a bit and here’s what I came up with.  It’s not poetic, it’s not profound, but it comes in at a solid 8 words and it speaks the truth:

New place, new friends, new adventure, new life.

 

2 thoughts on “In 10 words or less…

Leave a Reply

