Leap and the net will appear…

Yesterday marked the one-year anniversary of my lay-off from my job in Los Angeles. Working in the entertainment industry, getting laid off was nothing new to me.  I’d been through it several times before – shows get cancelled, studios fold, shit happens – that’s the biz.  You learn to roll with it.  And this lay-off was definitely no surprise – I knew it was coming, I just didn’t know exactly when.

But this time it felt different.  I had a hard time hiding my smile when I was called into the CFO’s office to receive the “bad” news. When I walked out of the office that day I truly felt free.  And happy.

I had no idea what was going to happen next.  But I knew what I wasn’t going to do.  I wasn’t going to stay in Los Angeles.  I had been talking to the guys in Dublin for a while now, but there was still no concrete guarantee of a job.  But I knew they wanted me and I truly felt like it was just a matter of time.

So, I packed up all my crap and moved home to Buffalo for what would turn out to be four months, trusting that this huge risk I was taking would pay off in the end.

And it did.

I think that ex-pats, by their very nature, are not risk-averse people.  I think they feel that any risks they are taking are far outweighed by the benefits they will end up reaping.  And that’s how I felt.  I had no way of knowing how things were going to work out, or even if they were going to work out.  But the risk, to me, was worth it.  I somehow knew that I wasn’t supposed to look for another job in Los Angeles, that I didn’t belong there anymore.

To quote a rather famous and popular musical, it was “time to trust my instincts, close my eyes and leap.”  So, I did.

And I landed in Dublin.

One thought on “Leap and the net will appear…

  1. this is one of those moments that i’m happy to say: “i told you so”! couldn’t be happier for you, my friend, that you are in such a fantastic city with fabulous new friends and an amazing & exciting new job! CHEERS!!

Leave a Reply

