Let There Be Light…

I arrived to begin my new life in Dublin on the day daylight savings time ended, and I have to admit, I was completely unprepared for the effect this would have on me.

I’ve traveled in Europe during winter months before and was aware that European countries have more extreme differences in daylight hours than I am used to in the States, but it started getting dark at about 3:30 in the afternoon.  When you are already a bit “fragile” from the stress of moving to a city you’ve never even visited, leaving behind your family and friends, needing to find a place to live and the looming start of a new job, the “getting dark in the middle of the afternoon thing” can be almost too much. From day one, I felt like I was chasing the daylight and this leant even more urgency to my stress and to-do-list-filled days.

But now, alleluia, daylight savings time has begun!  It’s light when I wake up in the morning, it’s light when I leave work in the evening and it’s STILL light even a couple hours later.  In the height of the summer it won’t start getting dark until after 10pm.  I feel like I paid my dues and am now being rewarded for hanging tough.  And I am going to make the most of these daylight-filled months.

I can’t wait for it to get warmer so that I can enjoy a glass of wine on my balcony while I watch the sunset.

And it is going to get warmer, right?

4 thoughts on “Let There Be Light…

  1. I remember that well – but on the opposite end. I was mercilessly mocked by my irish friends once a little before 4am when I asked what the light in the sky was for. We were coming out of a club and I thought it was one of those big lights they shoot into the sky (you know the kind, most often seen at movie premieres or rap star parties). Of course, it was the sun. To my american self, 4am was rather extreme for dawn but there it was.

    I feel your lack of daylight pain tho, now that I live in Seattle. Vitamin D supplements are your friends in the winter. Exceed the recommended dosage.

  2. You are in for a treat as we get into the month of June. On nicer days you can sit on your balcony and watch the sun set at about 10.45 PM…….. If we ever get “nicer days” !!!

Leave a Reply

