Dining Out In Dublin

I was talking to my dad last night and he said I should do some “Dining Out In Dublin” blog posts and I really liked the idea.  Some of you may know that I’ve done a wee bit of food writing for some online publications so this isn’t entirely new to me.  Besides, it’s my blog, I can write whatever I want, right?!

I’m not going to post any bad reviews.  If I go someplace and don’t like it, I’m just not going to write about it.  There’s enough negativity out there without me adding more.  But if I go to a place that I do like, I will let you know all about it.  I’m not sure if anyone who actually lives in Dublin is reading this blog, but maybe they will find a new place to try for dinner or brunch.  And when any of you come to visit me (hint, hint) you’ll have an idea of what you’d like to try.

So without further adieu, I present to you, my dear readers,

“Dining Out In Dublin: Door 51 Cafe”

Door 51 Cafe is one of the first restaurants I tried in my new neighborhood of Ranelagh. The fact that I’ve only lived in this neighborhood for two weeks and already have enough stamps on my frequent diner card to get a free sandwich and coffee is a clear indication of how much I love this place.

Door 51 is the neighborhood cafe I have always wanted to have on my doorstep.  It’s welcoming and homey, with only about 12 tables.  I’m already on a first name basis with the owner and wait staff and, perhaps most importantly, the food is great.

They serve breakfast all day and the menu is pretty extensive for such a small place.  The traditional Irish breakfast is offered of course, but also pancakes, french toast and omelets. And most joyous of all, they serve “crispy bacon” which is the American style bacon I covet so badly over here.

I’ve been working my way through the lunch menu which consists of sandwiches, soups, salads and the like.  Thus far I’ve had the burger, chicken club and BLT – all featuring crispy bacon, and all delicious.  And just yesterday, on a blustery Dublin afternoon, I tried the traditional Irish comfort food – bangers and mash with onion gravy.  In a word, yum!

Right now, Door 51 is only open for breakfast and lunch, but I’ve been told that they are soon going to be open in the evenings as a wine bar and I cannot wait.  What a lovely place to go for a glass of wine and a bite after a long day at work.  So, if you are ever in Ranelagh, check this place out.  Chances are I’ll already be there at my usual table.

Door 51 Cafe, where everybody knows my name. 🙂

http://www.door51ranelagh.com

3 thoughts on “Dining Out In Dublin

  1. love this, my friend! i cannot wait to visit you and get a real “tour” of door 51’s menu…maybe i’ll even be able to meet you there after you’ve been at work all day and i’ve just the day being a tourist. ; )

Leave a Reply

