Managing the Panic

“A life lived in fear is a life half-lived.”

That’s my favorite quote from one of my favorite movies of all time (Strictly Ballroom).  Last night, I fell asleep early only to wake up a couple hours later overcome by an incredible feeling of fear and loneliness.

Other well-traveled and ex-pat friends have reassured me that this feeling is normal.  And I know a lot of it is due to the exhaustion and adrenalin of the past couple of days.  I’m feeling much better today.  Now, I just want to get to Dublin already.

But there is still that nagging worry, like one of those little devils that appear on a cartoon character’s shoulder.  What if I can’t make any new friends?  What if I can’t find a place to live?  What if I don’t like Dublin?  What if I suck at my job?  What if… trust me, my mind can go on for days with thoughts like these.  I’m a worrier.  But the fear will not get the better of me because, after all, “a life lived in fear is a life half-lived.”

Next stop, Dublin!!!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Managing the Panic

  1. You are at the top of the roller coaster and soon that fear will be replaced by the rush of speeding toward the goal, the future. Dublin is part of your destiny and it will feed your soul and your spirit in ways you can’t anticipate. So try to erase all the negative what ifs. Fight them the way you would a bully, with cold indifference. Dublin ain’t seen nothing yet. . . But when it does, it will love you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

