How much is it worth to you?

My sister and I have often discussed how one’s time has a dollar value attached to it. Something may seem expensive or extravagant at first glance, but when looked at in light of the time it saved you, it was quite the bargain.

I am also learning with this international move that things like peace of mind and lowering of stress also have a monetary value to them.

If you ever undertake a move like this, or even go on a huge vacation think about where it is worth it to spend your money.  I don’t need a fancy hotel.  As long as it is clean and I have my own bathroom, I’m good.  However, getting to the hotel can be another story.  I have three HUGE bags with me right now and they contain everything I will survive with until January.  Now is not the time to see how great Dublin’s air bus is.  I am spending the money and having a car service meet me inside the airport with one of those glorious hand-written signs bearing my name.

And getting to the airport today, I paid an extra £6 to have the driver park the car and help me get my HUGE bags to the check-in desk.  Worth every cent.

But don’t forget to do the math.  I went with the later flight from London to Dublin because it was significantly cheaper than earlier fights.  It’s not like I was going to start apartment hunting today anyway so this was an easy way to save a few bucks.  But, when offered an upgrade to first class for £49, I did the math.  With the baggage costs I would have had with an economy ticket, it ended up being £5 cheaper to upgrade.  And the upgrade got me lounge access, priority baggage handling and priority check-in.  Score!  Oh, and a simple call to reception at my London hotel allowed me to check out 3 hours late with no additional charge.  Double score!  (remember my mantra – It can never hurt to ask!)

So, for anyone playing along, my sage advice is to never assume one way is better or cheaper.  Look at the options and then decide exactly what it’s worth to you.  And if you want something, ask for it.  The worst they can say is no, and it’s not like you’re ever going to see them again anyway.

 

 

6 thoughts on “How much is it worth to you?

    • Hah! That’s pretty funny considering Dad and I are so alike in many other of our travel wants (like, flying first class!). I’m with you on this one. I would never drive when flying is an option. And, after hotels and gas, do you really save any money? xoxo

  1. Oh! So true!! My husband and I often have this conversation. Is “XYZ” cheaper than it will cost in in divorce lawyers trying to handle this home improvement project? Good deal!!

  2. Love love love every bit of this! And I couldn’t agree more. Anything to reduce stress, save some of your energy, avoid injury (heavy huge bags to schlep around!), and ease your journey. Goooo Shanona!!!

Leave a Reply

